From Tsadra Commons
Jump to navigation Jump to search

+ Add to BuNay
View on BuNay

Key Term trikāya
Hover Popup Choices trikāya
In Tibetan Script སྐུ་གསུམ།
Wylie Tibetan Transliteration sku gsum
Devanagari Sanskrit Script त्रिकाय
Romanized Sanskrit trikāya
Tibetan Phonetic Rendering kusum
Chinese Script 三身
Chinese Pinyin sānshēn
English Standard three bodies
Richard Barron's English Term three kayas
Jeffrey Hopkin's English Term the three exalted bodies
Ives Waldo's English Term three buddha bodies
Term Type Noun
Source Language Sanskrit
Basic Meaning The three enlightened forms of a buddha one attains when one becomes fully enlightened. They include the truth body (dharmakāya), enjoyment body (saṃbhogakāya), and the emanation body (nirmāṇakāya). The three bodies comprise the many qualities and powers associated with buddhahood and thus are the result sought through Mahāyāna Buddhist practice.
Has the Sense of The three aspects of perfect enlightenment of a buddha: the enlightened state of one's mind after full transformation, the pure physical existence one attains as a result of inner perfection, and the myriad forms one can emanate from the enlightened state to help others.
Rangjung Yeshe's English Term three Bodies [thd]. *. {chos sku}. dharmakaya, {longs spyod rdzogs pa'i sku}. or sambhogakaya, and {sprul pa'i sku}. nirmanakaya. trikaya, the three bodies of the buddha. Three kayas. Dharmakaya, sambhogakaya and nirmanakaya. The * as ground are 'essence, nature, and capacity'; as path they are 'bliss, clarity and nonthought,' and as fruition they are the '* of buddhahood.' The * of buddhahood are the dharmakaya, which is free from elaborate constructs and endowed with the 'twenty-one sets of enlightened qualities;' the sambhogakaya, which is of the nature of light and endowed with the perfect major and minor marks perceptible only to bodhisattvas; and the nirmanakaya, which manifests in forms perceptible to both pure and impure beings